Durban north cricket derby: Clifton vs Northwood

The Clifton School first XI under the leadership of captain Ross Montgomery and coach Brandon Scullard are at the Robin Smith Oval this Saturday 29 January for the 9am starting time 50-over match against hosts Northwood.

Clifton vs Northwood: Ben McElligott, Camden Riley, Mitchell Tillard, Keaton Murray, Matthew Gore, Mohamed Taqvi, Ross Montgomery (capt), Tristan Naicker, Ryan Jairaj, Dario Reddy, Nathan Armitage-Graves. Coach: Brandon Scullard

Photo caption: The Captain’s Blazer tradition at Clifton has been updated and handed on with Ross Montgomery the new incumbent.

In the last 7 first XI matches between the near-neighbours Clifton have won 4 and Northwood 2 with 1 match abandoned.

Northwood first XI to play Clifton: Evan Fouche, Muhammad Karodia, James Nielsen, Bradley Bumberry, Adam Chislett (capt), Matthew Anderssen, Ethan Grace, Jason Pearce, Reinhardt Nel, plus 2 players still to be confirmed. Coach: Khalipha Cele

So far this year Clifton have played 6 matches won 3 lost 2 and had one match abandoned. And the matches have either been decisively won or lost, a trend that seems prevalent among the schools this year.

For info on the Northwood first XI year so far go to

Clifton: at the Kearsney festival earlier this month:

10 Jan vs Futura Academy: no play possible due to weather.
11 Jan vs Michaelhouse: Clifton 253/8 and Michaelhouse 109 all out leaving Clifton 144-run winners.
12 Jan vs KZN Coastal Invitational XI: Clifton 270 all out beat Coastal 140 all out by 130 runs.
13 Jan vs Kearsney: lost by 5 wickets in Kearsney reaching 130 for 5 chasing Clifton’s 129 all out.

At Durban High School on 22 Jan:
Clifton 235 for 8 in 50 overs (McElligott 31, Montgomery 30, Riley 35, Naicker 39, Jairaj 39) DHS 59 all out (Jairaj 3-22, Armitage-Graves 4 for 1 (including a memorable hat-trick))
Clifton won by 176 runs.

Leave a Reply