Oppenheimer Michaelmas Cricket Week Umpires named

It gives KZN10.com great pleasure to reveal the names of the umpires who will officiate in the 59th edition of the Oppenheimer Michaelmas Cricket Week, so splendidly hosted as always by Maritzburg College.

The four days of cricket, starting Saturday 29 September to Tuesday 2 October sees a remarkable 22 top-tier cricket schools from across the country field their first XI’s in a mammoth 44 matches in and around the KZN capital and further afield at picturesque Eston Country Club and Richmond Country Club.


Oppenheimer Michaelmas Cricket Week & Hill Premium Quality Cricket Balls go hand in glove. Maritzburg College Old Boy Stuart Hill (082 752 1494) will tell you why.

Featured image: Umpires Craig Macauley and Sibonelo ‘Sibs’ Mashimane will be busy men on Goldstones and elsewhere during the four days of Oppenheimer Michaelmas Cricket Week. Photo Jono Cook

Without these guys, who are more than willing to give of their time and knowledge over four gruelling days of arguably the most intense schoolboy cricket in the country, there simply would be no matches, no cricket week, no nothing.


The Pietermaritzburg-based John Carstens is one of the highly regarded umpires who will officiate at the 59th annual Oppenheimer Michaelmas Cricket Week hosted by Maritzburg College.


That said, it is remarkable how many of these steadfast cricket men are, to maul a metaphor, “repeat offenders”.


Umpire Pius Nkosi is back for his umpteenth Oppenheimer Michaelmas Cricket Week. Photo Jono Cook


Indeed many of these good men in the trademark black pants, white shirts and hats hail the Oppenheimer Michaelmas Cricket Week (OMCW) as their cricketing highlight of the year.

Hence the repeat offenders, many of whom have officiated at Oppenheimer Michaelmas Cricket Weeks into double figures now.


Kershan Moodley is one of the many Durban-based umpires who relish the annual pilgrimage to Oppenheimer Michaelmas Cricket Week. Photo Jono Cook


One of the stalwarts of OMCW is umpires’ co-ordinator Mike Wolstenholme.


Umpires gathered last year at the 58th OMCW Dinner in the iconic Victoria Hall, and sponsored once again by caterer supreme Heather Lawson of Granny Macs. Mike Wolstenholme is back row, fourth from the left. Photo Jono Cook


Thanks Mike for sharing the Team Umpire list.


Andrew Ngubane
Cameron Boock
Chris Govender
Chris Ndlovu
Craig Macauley
Daryl Govender
Jayden Knipe
John Carstens
Kershan Moodley
Matt Ducasse
Muhammad Jooma
Mike Wolstenholme
Pete Osborn
Pius Nkosi
Saxon Colling
Sibonga Shabangu
Sibonelo Mashimane
Siyabonga Mjojo
Stenly Mpofu
Yameen Godil
Tyler Trenowerth
Vaughan Meyer


Attention, all ye good umpires: Hilliar & Gray offer in-depth assessments that include eye focusing, eye tracking, visual perception and visual processing speed. Look no further.

Leave a Reply